A variety of low-carb breakfasts

Today I thought I’d share with you some recent breakfasts because that was the first thing I had a hard time with when I went low-carb, having been a cereal eater because it’s quick and mindless in the mornings.

I mostly try to have quick and easy breakfasts, and pre-run (I’ve started running every other morning) I just down 700 ml of water and have a handful of peanuts. Post-run and -shower I have a “regular” breakfast.

A quick note on the eggs: we get local free-run eggs from chickens on green grass, meaning they are omega-3 eggs, which don’t knock off our omega-3/omega-6 balance like regular eggs (from non-grass eating chickens) .

So, here’s a few breakfasts to give you ideas:

low-carb breakfast 6

2 egg omelette with local organic green garlic and gruyere cheese, with a side of local organic beet greens.

I like omelettes because they’re quick to make and there’s usually something from my weekly local organics to toss in there.

low-carb breakfast 5

50g cocoa hot cereal with about 1/4 cup vanilla almond milk.

The cocoa hot cereal was inspired by the Cinnamon Hot Cereal in Dana Carpender’s 500 Low-Carb Recipes. However, I got different calculations on the usable carbs, so I wanted a hot cereal with less, and came up with this. I will post a recipe when I’ve perfected the recipe, as it’s not quite there yet. For the vanilla almond milk I mixed my homemade almond milk with some homemade vanilla extract. The coffee has a couple of tablespoons of half and half in it: half full cream, half almond milk.

low-carb breakfast 4

100 g of strained homemade yogurt and 30 or 40 g homemade granola

My homemade plain yogurt, with much of the carb-heavy whey strained out overnight, and my low-carb granola.

low-carb breakfast 3

2 fried eggs and a couple of local cherry tomatoes.

Fried eggs is another quick egg meal. Heat the pan, add butter, eggs, flip when the edges are lacy (okay, only the one on the left was) and remove almost immediately after the flip so the yolks are still runny.

low-carb breakfast 2

Kerala-style eggs and some bacon

It’s true, this recipe is from a vegetarian cookbook, but there’s no law against meat-eaters using vegetarian recipes, is there? It’s the Kerala-style Eggs (p. 23) from Celia Brooks Brown‘s Low-Carb Vegetarian, served with our strained homemade yogurt. We love our Indian food, so this was a great addition to our weekend brunch menu. It’s not very quick, but it’s delicious.

Low-carb breakfast shake.

Today it was the low-carb breakfast shake that broke my breakfast boredom a couple of weeks ago.

Update September 5, 2012:

low-carb breakfast strained yogurt and pistachios

Strained yogurt and pistachios

On our camping trip when I ran out of homemade low-carb granola, I had a handful (20-30 grams) of nuts (I like pistachios best for this) in a bit (100 grams) of Greek (strained) yogurt. I have it all the time now.
Calories 227.67 Net Carbs 8.02g Protein 12.57g Fat 16.54g 

Update November 11, 2012:

Cinnamon Faux Crunch with plain almond milk

Cinnamon Faux Crunch with plain almond milk

I wrote a little post about this delicious breakfast right here.

Update February 28, 2013:

gluten free sugar free breakfast cookies

Yummy low-carb breakfast cookies

There’s also these delicious breakfast cookies, edited ingredients list here, with a link to the original recipe.

Update April 2, 2013:

low-carb coconut flax gluten-free sugar-free oatmeal

Delicious hot coconut flax porridge!

Here’s another hot cereal: coconut porridge with vanilla, flax seed, almond meal (but I’m going to try hazelnut meal next time!) and coconut or almond milk. I added a few blueberries, too.

Update April 21, 2014:

Overnight Chocolate Coffee Chia Breakfast Pudding

For a make-ahead breakfast with a kick, Overnight Chocolate Coffee Chia Breakfast Pudding is great.

Leave a Reply

