Low-carb lasagna

I’ve been craving pasta lately. Lasagna in particular. I don’t remember where I read about the idea of using sliced eggplant (aubergine) in place of lasagna noodles (maybe at livestrong.com?). So tonight I thought I’d give it a go.

My kids have never liked lasagna (honestly, what’s not to like?!), and since I had made a batch of pizza bites in preparation for a field trip lunch tomorrow, I served those to them and made lasagna for the adults. (My brother-in-law was driving by on his way home from work just after I’d taken it out of the oven, so I invited him over as well, as he’s in the middle of a kitchen renovation.)

low-carb lasagna

It was absolutely delicious (the photograph doesn’t do it justice, but I’d forgotten about the photo until we were well into it) and I was worried about the texture, but it was perfect.

I don’t have a recipe, since it was a throw-together job, and you can just use your regular lasagna recipe with thinly sliced eggplant in place of the noodles, but here’s my rough notes:

I sliced 1 and 1/2 small eggplants (about 400 g) thinly (2-3 mm, skins on), then browned 1 lb. ground beef (we use naturally raised so it’s naturally lean), added a minced garlic clove, and a pint of homemade tomato sauce I pulled out of the freezer (we’ve never used sugar in our tomato sauce) and mixed it well. Then in a bowl I mixed about 350 g of cottage cheese, about a cup of mozzarella and maybe 1/4 cup of parmesan. In a small (9×9″) casserole, I layered (listed from the bottom of the dish to the top):

  • tomato sauce
  • eggplant slices
  • tomato sauce
  • cheese mixture
  • eggplant slices
  • tomato sauce
  • cheese mixture
  • eggplant slices
  • tomato sauce
  • grated mozzarella and parmesan

Oh, and I have fresh basil growing in pots on my deck now, so I added a some of that to a layer as well. Cover and cook at 350 F for 35 minutes, uncover and cook for another 10 minutes. Let sit for 10 minutes or so before serving.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

