Kale chips

baked kale chips

Last night we got our first kale of the season in our weekly local organics and as soon as I saw them, I thought, “Kale chips!!!”

So tonight I made some up, much to the delight of my 5 year old. That boy could eat an entire bunch of kale if it was baked into chips. Me, too.

I use this recipe from allrecipes.com, but I actually don’t line the cookie sheet with parchment, and instead of drizzling with olive oil, which I find gets the kale too soggy, I spray on the oil with my little pump sprayer. It works perfectly. Also, because I want to know exactly what goes into my spice mixes, I base my seasoning salt on this one at food.com, only without the sugar and cornstarch.

A note if you’ve never made them: Do get rid of the thick stems as they make the chips soggy and are hard to eat. I forgot on one or two and they were promptly rejected by my kale-chip-loving son. Fair enough.

6 thoughts on “Kale chips

Leave a Reply

