Turmeric Riced Cauliflower

I wasn’t introduced to Indian food until well into my twenties, but the love for it was instant. I later married a Brit, and now Indian food is a staple in our house, and everyone’s favourite restaurant meal (it helps that we have several good Indian and Pakistani restaurants in walking distance).

My regular homemade curry, low-carb style

Our old standard when we have chicken and dark green leafies on hand (spinach, chard, or this time I used a mix of beet greens and chard) is Butter Chicken (awesome recipe from a cookbook by some local nutritionist moms called Feed Me I’m Hungry), Chana Masala for the boys, and Palak Paneer (but I’m looking for a more authentic saag recipe – I’m open to suggestions in the comments!) for the parents, and it used to include brown basmati rice.

I have to admit, I’ve never been a big rice fan. When I was eating low GI during the gestational diabetes study (only parboiled rice was allowed) I was in I was only too happy to cut my rice portions right down.

A month ago, friend introduced me to cauliflower “rice”, and it was delicious. I tried it at home and my husband liked it as well (I did the Basic Cauliflower Rice from The Low-Carb Gourmet) and I thought, “Perfect for curries!” I had a chance to give it a try the other night with our regular curry and it is a match made in low-carb heaven. Another reason to love it over rice: it’s quick.
Turmeric Riced Cauliflower

Here’s my recipe, which made 3 good adult portions (or 4 small).
I guess I’ll call it:

Turmeric Riced Cauliflower

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 tbsp unsalted butter or ghee (this random website tells you how to make your own ghee)
  • 1/2 of a small cauliflower
  • 1/3-1/2 cup green garlic, or green onion, chives, onions, shallots, garlic, finely minced (garlic scapes would probably work nicely here, too)
  • 1/4 tsp ground turmeric
  • salt & pepper to taste

Using the grating attachment on a food processor (or by hand), grate the cauliflower.

Heat a large frying pan over medium heat and melt butter or ghee. Add green garlic, give it a quick stir (if you’re using onion or shallot, give it a few minutes to soften up before you add the cauliflower) add the cauliflower, along with 1/4 tsp (or more to taste because you just can’t have too much turmeric) turmeric. Stir and fry until the cauliflower is tender, around 8-10 minutes. Season to taste. Serve with your saucy curry immediately.

This makes for great leftovers, too.

Leave a Reply

