Low-carb travel

20120704-212429.jpg
Sorry for the gap in posts, but we’ve been travelling for nearly 3 weeks so I haven’t had time to post, and I haven’t done much experimenting in the kitchen. We have been camping and I wasn’t sure how the low-carb thing was going to work, since our favourite camping suppers are either bready (burgers, sausage on a bun) or otherwise carby (chili, camp curry with rice and naan or pita). And eating out can be difficult, too.

However, it has worked out pretty nicely. For car snacks, we made tamari almonds and the snack mix from Dana Carpender’s 500 Low-Carb Recipes, and brought various nuts to refill everyone’s little canisters every day, and had a bag of gala apples for those times when they got sick of nuts.

For breakfast I made a big batch of low-carb granola for my youngest done and myself, and made muesli for my eldest. We ran out, but have been buying plain Greek yoghurt and local berries and having them with pistachios or cashews (one son likes one, the other likes the other) in place of homemade cereal, as well as bacon or sausage and eggs.

For road/picnic lunches we had a summer sausage from our local naturally raised beef producers, plus various cheeses, pickles, baby carrots, cucumbers, cherry or grape tomatoes and homemade sesame sunflower crackers, sometimes with cream cheese, sometimes with peanut butter or almond butter.

For suppers, early on we had salads (until the lettuce ran out – we didn’t replenish as it doesn’t travel well and I can’t really take much grocery store lettuce. I’ve been spoiled with our local organics) with sausages or burgers with no buns, frozen curry I had made the week before the trip which lasted a couple of meals, steak and veggies and dip, cheese fondue with veggies (zucchini, mushroom, tomato) for dipping (instead of traditional baguette)…

For desserts we had berries and sometimes cream or dark chocolate, and we brought our ice cream ball as well.

When we ate out and I just asked for no rice/potatoes and was generally offered veggies/salad/tomato slices instead. We were in by the sea, so I enjoyed much seafood, and when it only came on a bun (e.g. Lobster roll) I just ate half or less of the bun. Next time I get eggs benedict in a restaurant, I’ll try asking for no English muffin, but for them to put it on tomato slices instead.

We’ve done much better than I thought we were, which makes me happy.

The photo above shows the best strawberries I’ve ever had, bought on our travels from an unmanned roadside farm stand (“Please leave money in the box”).

One thought on “Low-carb travel

Leave a Reply

