Low-carb pizza attempt #2

Well, last night was that time again: time to make another attempt at low-carb pizza. As I explained before, excellent homemade pizza is near and dear to our hearts since my husband had perfected pizza dough. So it’s a tough act to follow. Happily, others have blazed the trail before us. Which made my “Which low-carb pizza recipe (other than the one recommended by a friend) should I try?” decision much easier. I just chose the “realest” one from Stuff I Make My Husband’s Great Pizza Experiment.

It was the hybrid crust, made from:

  • 4 oz / 113 g cauliflower, steamed, wrung out in a clean towel to drain, then shredded
  • 4 oz / 113 g mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tbsp / 30 mL flax meal
  • 2 tbsp / 30 mL coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp / 2.5 mL baking powder

It was baked on parchment paper at 350F for 15 minutes, flipped, and baked another 15 minutes. At which point it looked like this:

hybrid crust, cooked

Then I topped it (sauce, pepperoni and mozzarella cheese for the boys) and baked it for another 5 minutes at 35oF and broiled it for about 3-4 minutes.

And it was a great low-carb substitute! It was much “breadier” than the limp cauliflower crust. My 5 year old and I really liked it (we had the cold leftovers today for lunch), my 7 year old decided he hated it before even trying it (after trying it, he admitted it was better than the cauliflower one), and my husband said it was “good”, which is high praise for him.

By the way, I doubled the recipe to make 2 pizzas and it worked perfectly.

low-carb pizza 2

Not including the toppings, the nutrition data (from USDA nutrient database, except coconut flour) for half of one of these crusts (because the pizza was so good I ate half of one) is:

    • 334.5 kCal
    • protein 24.9 g
    • fat 19.51 g
    • carbs 15.3 g – fibre 8.7 g = usable carbs 6.6 g
Leave a Reply

