Low-carb waffles

waffle ironLet me start this post by apologizing. I have now made these waffles twice and I failed to take a photograph both times. I guess it’s been so long since I had waffles I just wanted to dig in without delay. Actually, I just totally forgot both times until after everyone was nearly finished. And talking a photograph of someone’s mostly eaten waffle isn’t that attractive.

We just bought a waffle iron yesterday and came home and made waffles. They are the waffles from Karen Barnaby’s The Low-Carb Gourmet, but someone appears to have posted a very similar recipe here. I didn’t realize that they needed to sit in the fridge for an hour (up to 24) when I made them yesterday, so I made them without that step. They were still good. I also made another batch at the time and put that in the fridge yesterday to eat today, as per the instructions. They were also good. In fact, I’m not sure there was much of a difference. We ate them with berries and whipped cream. It was delicious and a big hit with everyone, dubious children included.

I made a few of changes to the recipe:

  • I didn’t add any splenda or other sweetener.
  • I cut the salt down by half.
  • I used our plain homemade almond milk instead of soy milk.
  • I added a bit of vanilla extract. (The recipe online doubles the book recipe, so I would have added 2 teaspoons of vanilla to the online recipe.)

So, instead of a waffle photo, you get a recently-used waffle iron photo. Sorry. The next time we make waffles I’ll post a photo, but that could be some time… FYI, the waffles are darker than white flour waffles, for obvious reasons (ground flax and nuts instead of white flour). Maybe next time I’ll try golden flax seeds and blanched almonds to see if they look more authentic.

Update January 29, 2013: I finally remembered to take a photo!

Leave a Reply

