More low carb cookies!

Ever in the search for the perfect lower carb cookies for my kids, I tried the Wheat Belly Cookbook Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies. But there is some confusion in there as a note at the bottom refers to omitting coconut flour that isn’t actually listed in the recipe (the wheat belly blog claims this mistake is only in the ebook but they are mistaken. It’s definitely in the paperback version.). The recipe does, however, list peanut flour. As I didn’t have any peanut flour, I used coconut flour instead. Also, I hate stevia aftertaste so I didn’t use the stevia. And they were delicious!

However, we have lots of friends who are allergic to peanuts and/or tree nuts. But none of them are allergic to coconut or almonds. So the next time I made the recipe, I made them Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies, and changed several of the ingredients, using the following:
Low carb no added sugar no dairy gluten free Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 200 g almonds, ground
  • 70 g coconut flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 260 g natural almond butter (unsweetened)
  • 3/4 c almond milk (plain, unsweetened)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 170 g bittersweet chocolate chips

(It’s the usual cookie recipe: mix wet and dry separately, then mix all together, bake 15-20 minutes at 350F.)

I also rolled them into balls and flattened them, and they turned out crispy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. The perfect cookie consistency in a gluten-free, dairy-free (but not egg-free), peanut-free, low-carb cookie! I think the combination of coconut flour, almond butter, and the vanilla makes them naturally taste sweet without the sugar. Next I’ll try with half chocolate chips and half cacao nibs.

Davis lists the original recipe as making 20 cookies, but I easily made double that (apparently I make my cookies very small). If we go with dividing this recipe into 20, the nutrition facts are:

Per serving (1/20 of recipe):

Calories 206.76
Protein 5.9 g
Fat 15.62 g
Net Carbs (carbohydrates less fibre) 8.69 g

I also tried the Gingerbread Cookies recipe in the book, but they weren’t as good. However, I’m working on that myself so I’ll post when that’s ready.

2 thoughts on “More low carb cookies!

Leave a Reply

