Chocolate cake

gluten free no added sugar low-carb chocolate cake

So we’ve been doing this low carb thing for around a year now, which means we’ve had a few birthdays. I’ve been trying to perfect the birthday cake and I think I finally got it. We have tried it out on family and friends and the non-low-carbers enjoy it as well.

But before I get to that recipe I’d like to just let you know how it’s going and what we are doing in our diet. Basically, I’m not really counting carbohydrates anymore. I cut out added sugar (and honey and maple syrup – it all hits the bloodstream with the same effect) with the exception of what’s in dark (70% and up) chocolate. We cut out white flour (including pasta, but we love mockeroni cheese from Rose Eliot’s cookbook and pasta-free lasagna). I was never big on rice (but I love riced cauliflower) but the kids still eat it. We eat all veggies (even the carby ones like sweet potatoes, potatoes and squash), and, obviously, fruit. We don’t drink juice, but we haven’t for years (or not since I found out when I had gestational diabetes that fruit juices have as much sugar in them as pop, and no fibre to slow down the absorption like the whole fruit does). Our bread intake is minimal. My husband has tried a few of the low-carb wheat free “breads” but they are really more like cakes. Every once in a while, I crave his pain ordinaire – fresh out of the oven with a good slathering of butter. (Actually, in recent years he changed up that recipe to a live starter and half wheat.) I lost 15 pounds, although it comes back quickly when I go away for the weekend and eat whatever my host is serving for a few days (you forget how much pasta, bread, chips, crackers, and sugary desserts people generally eat). It goes away quickly once I get back home and on track again. My guilty pleasure is buttered popcorn a once or twice a month.

Basically, we don’t eat processed foods (but friends can tell you that we didn’t before either), sugar, or flour. We like our treats, but have managed to tame the sweet tooth we all have, although it took a few months for me (a bar of 80% dark chocolate saved me there when I got sweet cravings. Just a single square was enough.) and longer for my eldest.

So, back to the chocolate cake, which everybody could use every once in a while. It’s not exactly low-carb, but it is lower carb, and it is delicious.

Lynn’s (fruit sweetened, wheat free) Chocolate Cake

  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup applesauce, unsweetened
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 cups almond flour – I use our dehydrated almond flour (by-product of making our own almond milk) but the last time I tried a mix of 2 cups of freshly ground almonds plus 2 tablespoons of coconut flour and it worked out great
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch salt

Beat wet (first five) ingredients.
Mix dry ingredients separately.
Add dry to wet and mix. Pour into a greased cake pan (we use our 9″ cheesecake ring for easy access).
Bake at 325F for 30-45 min or when knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let cool then glaze with dark chocolate ganache (see below).

Dark chocolate ganache:

  • 2.5 oz (70 g) bittersweet (70% cocoa) chocolate
  • 1/2 oz (14 g) unsweetened chocolate
  • 80-90 ml full cream

Melt chocolate in a double boiler over medium to low heat, then lower the heat (or if it’s at the lowest, remove from heat) and add the cream, whisking until smooth. Glaze cooled cake.

The nutrition info all depends, literally, on how you slice it. We cut pretty small. I’m guessing 14 slices in total but I’ll make note of it next time.

Without ganache – 1/14 of cake:

Calories: 308.9
Protein: 8.7 g
Fat: 26.2 g
Net Carbs: 10 g

With ganache (which I calculated as 80% dark chocolate since I had that in my database and I didn’t have 70% or unsweetened) – 1/14 of cake:

Calories: 366.33
Protein: 9.3 g
Fat: 31.2 g
Net Carbs: 12 g

Update March 20, 2013:

Just a quick note to let you know that this works well when making crazy theme cakes as well. Below is my husband’s race car cake for my son’s most recent birthday. I believe the icing was a cream cheese icing. And we break out the food dye on the boys’ birthdays.

Race car low carb gluten free birthday cake

Race car low carb gluten free birthday cake!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate cake

  1. My friend made this cake for my birthday this week. I just got off of Whole30 last week and have been making intentional choices about my food as a result, so my loving friend had to find something I could/would eat. LOVED IT.

Leave a Reply

