Pork Roast, Cheese Sauce & Cookies

I know, I know, it’s been an age since I last posted. I’ve been busy with the holiday season, making and selling hats and cute things from wool for my little business.

But here’s a very quick entry. Apologies for the appalling photography.

gluten free cheese sauce

Pork roast and veggies with gluten-free cheese sauce!

We had a pork roast last night which was delicious (even the kids thought so). I tweaked this Roast Pork with Rutabagas and Apples recipe from Williams-Sonoma by eliminating the sugar/honey, and instead adding a couple of tablespoons of applesauce (since the reviewer said the amount of glaze didn’t cover the roast, I made more). Also, we didn’t have rutabagas, so I used parsnips. It was delicious. Tonight we had the leftovers, and they were just as delicious.

Also, it has come to my attention that you can make cheese sauce without flour. Gluten-free cheese sauce.  In a double boiler, add a little cream (for 3 people tonight I added about 1/4 cup – better to start with too little as you can add more later). Let it heat up, then add a bunch of grated cheese (we use old cheddar). Whisk. Let it melt. Add more cheese if it’s too thin or more cream if it’s too thick. Whisk. Melt. Serve immediately.

Nikki's Healthy Cookies - low carb version

Nikki’s Healthy Cookies – Lynn’s low carb version

Lastly, a friend sent me a link to the recipe for Nikki’s Healthy Cookies and I finally tried it. We didn’t have any oats, and I’d rather not use them, so I used a cup of sliced almonds and a cup of sunflower seeds, whizzed in the food processor to chop them up a little. Everything else I kept the same as the original recipe. They are delicious!

Tonight I didn’t have 3 bananas, so I used 2 and about 1/3 cup of some tart applesauce I’d made from some crabapples we’d picked back in August. They are also delicious. The only tweak I’d make is an attempt to dry them out a bit by adding more almond flour or a tablespoon or two of coconut flour.

Leave a Reply

