Camping Trip Preparations

We are going to be heading out on another big camping trip this summer, and I’ve started looking into my notes from the big trip 2 years ago. I thought I’d share some of the things I’ll be making and bringing food-wise for the road.

I’ll be making:

  • Dana’s Snack Mix – from 500 Low-Carb Recipes by Dana Carpender
  • Tamari Almonds – a perennial favourite
  • Grainless Granola – this linked recipe is an adaptation of the original recipe from the Wheat Belly Cookbook – I would eliminate the last 2 ingredients (honey & salt) and, a secret from my mom, I find that coconut chips (the big slivers, not flakes) make this really, really tasty. Also, cook at 300F, stirring a couple of times, for 20 minutes.
  • Sunflower Sesame Crackers – I got the recipe from 500 Low-Carb Recipes, but there’s one that pretty close on this website (just add 1/2 tsp salt to the mix)
  • Cookies
  • Almond Milk 

We’ll bring cheese, summer sausage, cucumbers, carrots, various nuts (that’s picnic lunch there), soda water, I’m going to make chili (actually, I got this great Indian Beef Chili recipe from a book I borrowed from the library called Quick-Fix Indian by Ruta Kahate, so there may be 2 chili types) and keep in mind other 1 pot meals. I might make some breakfast cookies, and there will definitely be bacon and eggs, as well as greek (strained) whole milk yogurt. And coffee. Lots of coffee.

In my search for the above recipes online, I found these grain-free, sugar-free (sweetened with dates but I’d cut them way back and try a few other tricks) chai granola bars, which sound intriguing. I’ll let you know if I try them…

2 thoughts on “Camping Trip Preparations

Leave a Reply

