Coconut Porridge!

low-carb coconut flax gluten-free sugar-free oatmeal

I don’t remember how I got to this recipe for coconut porridge, but I think it may have started on Pinterest and ended with a duckduckgo search.

In any case, it was intriguing enough to try, and I gave it a go this morning, and it was pretty darn good! I used almond milk instead of the coconut milk and added a few blueberries for colour and a little sweetness instead of the suggested honey. If you check out the comments on the linked recipe’s post, people have varied it and added different spices (cinnamon, pumpkin spices) used chia for the flax or almond flour, and one person used hazelnut meal instead of almonds, which I am definitely going to have to try.

One more cereal (because I do love cereal) to add to the master breakfast list! And we can all use a little more flax seed, can’t we?

Oh, and I haven’t worked out the nutrition data, but as it’s only flax seed, almonds, unsweetened coconut, coconut milk, and a teaspoon or two of blueberries, I think it’s pretty good. There are carbs in there, but there’s also a lot of fibre. (Click on any of those ingredients for links to the USDA nutrient database entry for them.)

Leave a comment